Press Releases

Winners of Blackboard Awards for Australia and New Zealand 2019 Announced
Blackboard Awards recognise and honour innovation and excellence

SYDNEY, 22 August, 2019 – Blackboard Inc., a leading education technology company for teaching, learning and student engagement, today announced the winners of the Blackboard Awards for Australia and New Zealand 2019.

Founded in 2005, the annual Blackboard Awards (formally known as the Catalyst Awards in ANZ) recognise and honour innovation and excellence in the Blackboard global community of practice, where millions of educators and learners work every day to redefine what is possible when leveraging technology.  Winners are selected by a cross-functional team of Blackboard experts.  The honourees from across the ANZ region were recognised during Blackboard’s annual Teaching & Learning Conference ANZ 2019 held in Sydney on 21 to 22 August.

“We are thrilled to celebrate the winners of this year’s Blackboard Awards and applaud each of them for sharing their innovative vision and demonstrating their commitment to leveraging technology to enhance the overall teaching and learning experience,” said Lee Blakemore, Chief Client Officer and President, Global Client Operations & Success at Blackboard.  “Our goal with the awards, in part, is to inspire institutions to continually work towards improving student success.  Representing the best in their field, these clients are clearly achieving this and we look forward to further accompanying them on their EdTech journey.”

Below are the winners, listed by category:

Leading Change
This award recognises institutions that have developed practices and/or technologies that have had a measurable effect on learning outcomes, student performance, or academic progression.  The winners are:

  • Monash College, Victoria: Dr. Kulari Lokuge, Ian Rorke, Sharon Whippy, Paul Hellwge, Nathan Fitzgerald, Vy Tran, Divya Srinivas, Louis Doug An, Julia Vanuchchi, Sohail Aslam, Prateek Jindal, Estha Hanning Su, Amit Vij, Emily Takayama

Professional Development
This award recognises those who use Blackboard programs to support and enhance their faculty and staff’s professional development.  The winners are:

  • Western Sydney University, New South Wales: Nikki Meller
  • Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand: Mark Northover, Nell Buissink, John Davies, Herewini Easton, Piki Diamond, Emily Whitehead

Student Success
The award recognises individuals and/or institutions whose creative program application has led to increased retention, increased completion, and/or improved outcomes.  The winners are:

  • James Cook University, Queensland: Shashidhar Venkatesh Murthy, Andrew Gavan

For more information on the Blackboard Awards and this year’s winners, please visit

About Blackboard
Our mission is to partner with the global education community to enable learner and institutional success, leveraging innovative technologies and services.  With an unmatched understanding of the world of the learner, the most comprehensive student-success solutions, and the greatest capacity for innovation, Blackboard is education’s partner in change.


Kate Crosbie, Public Relations Consultant
+61 437 087 807 or

Subscribe to receive the latest Blackboard news