Press Releases

Winners of 2020 Blackboard Awards for Asia-Pacific Announced
Awards recognise and honor innovation and excellence in the Blackboard global community of practice

BRISBANE, 26 August, 2020 – Blackboard Inc. today announced the winners of the 2020 Blackboard Awards for Asia-Pacific (APAC).  The honorees were recognized during Blackboard’s annual Teaching & Learning Conference APAC 2020, which was held for the first time as a virtual event on 26 and 27 August.

Now in their 5th year, the annual Blackboard Awards (formally known as the Blackboard Catalyst Awards in the region) recognize and honor innovation and excellence in the Blackboard global community of practice, where millions of educators and learners work every day to redefine what is possible when leveraging technology.  Winners are selected by a cross-functional team of Blackboard experts.

“Each year I’m inspired by how educators in the Blackboard community continue to raise the bar by leveraging technology in innovative ways,” said Lee Blakemore, Chief Client Officer and President, Global Markets at Blackboard.  “In a year that has seen unique challenges, it’s encouraging to see changes being embraced that not only enable them to overcome disruption but that continue to drive student and institutional success through best practice.  Congratulations to the worthy winners.”

Below are the winners, listed by category:

Inclusive Education
This award honors those institutions whose methods have ensured their pedagogy, content, technology, and educational services are fully inclusive and supportive of all learners with disabilities.  The winners are:

  • Charles Darwin University, Northern Territory, Australia: Nijel Ratonel, Jackie Wynne, Zachary Watt, Chrissy Zelley, Denise Horvath
  • GOTAFE, Victoria, Australia: Ilona Van Galen

Professional Development
This award recognises those who use Blackboard programs to support and enhance their faculty and staff’s professional development.  The winners are:

  • INTI International University and Colleges, Malaysia: Lee Chew Ging, Azlina Che Ani, Shirrina Ng, Khairul Bariah Ahmad, Christine Wong
  • Malayan Colleges Laguna, Philippines: Abigail Joy Rodelas-Angelia, Carina Victoria Adanza, John Mark Almarez, Raychelle Artuz, Khristian Kikuchi, James Ronald Mesina, Roel Rodrigo, Pearl Stephanie Ulep, Sharyl Zarate

Student Success
The award recognises individuals and/or institutions whose creative program application has led to increased retention, increased completion, and/or improved outcomes.  The winners are:

  • Curtin University, Western Australia, Australia: Joel Louie, Jonathan Pillai
  • Western Sydney University, New South Wales, Australia: Learning Futures Online Assessments Taskforce
  • INTI International University, Malaysia: Jonathan Bryce, Marena Francien Kok, Jane Xavierine 

For more information on the Blackboard Awards and this year’s winners, please visit

About Blackboard
Blackboard is a leading EdTech company, serving higher education, K-12, business and government clients around the world. We connect a deep understanding of education with the power of technology to continuously push the boundaries of learning. Our mission is to advance learning together with the world's education community, so that all learners, educators and institutions can realize their goals today and prepare for tomorrow.  

For further information: Kate Crosbie, Public Relations Consultant, +61 437 087 807 or
Subscribe to receive the latest Blackboard news